Alumni Awards

Each year, the Mount Marty Alumni Assocation awards the following alumni awards:





Want to nominate someone?

Submit Your Nomination Online

Congratulations to the 2016 Award Winners

This year, the MMC Alumni Association presented five Alumni Achievement Awards at the Alumni Mass on Sunday, June 26.


Raelynn ColdwellThe Outstanding Young Alumni Award, which recognizes a recent graduate from the past five years for demonstrating loyalty to MMC, involvement in church and civic activities and the expression of the MMC mission in his or her life, was presented to Raelynn Coldwell, Class of 2012. Coldwell is the communications director for the Sisters of Sacred Heart Monastery and the 2012 Class Agent and regularly volunteers her time to speak with current students about their MMC experiences.


Frank “Bink” CrislerFrank “Bink” Crisler, Class of 1984, received the Service to Church and Community Award, which recognizes an individual who has exhibited notable leadership abilities in service to his or her church and community at the local, state, regional or national level. Crisler has been the editor of The Arlington Sun newspaper for 28 years and has been an active member of St. John’s Catholic Church since moving to Arlington, South Dakota, in 1988. A Eucharistic minister, he has served as the church’s treasurer, a member of the Parish Council and is currently a lector. He has also served as president of the Arlington Community Foundation, as a member of the Arlington Chamber of Commerce and now serves on the museum and library boards.


Fr Thomas WordekemperThis year’s Service to Mount Marty College Awardwent to Father Thomas Wordekemper and Sister Matthew Wehri, who have both distinguished themselves as loyal to MMC’s mission and have reflected the college with their Christian lifestyles. Father Wordekemper, Class of 1979, has been chaplain to the Sisters of Sacred Heart Monastery and MMC for the past six years. His service as a monk for the past 30 years includes serving as a teacher, guest master, kitchen manager, baker, vocation director, choir director, organist, pastoral assistant, fundraiser, director, groundskeeper and painter, and he has also served on numerous campus committees and volunteer opportunities in the Yankton area.

Sr. Matthew

Sister Matthew has been at the Sacred Heart Monastery since 1954, and her service can be seen throughout the monastery, from sewing drapes for the bedrooms and hanging them in all three dorms, classrooms and the south dining hall; driving the sisters to their appointments; scrubbing, stripping and sealing the floors; and maintaining the college and monastery’s campus-wide flower gardens. 


Shawn GallagherThe fourth and final recognition, the Professional Achievement Award, was presented to Shawn Gallagher, Class of 1976, for consistently demonstrating leadership, competence, dedication, integrity and commitment to continued education in his chosen profession. After attending the University of Notre Dame Law School and passing the Nebraska Bar, Gallagher joined the U.S. Army Judge Advocate General’s Corps and served at posts all across the U.S. and abroad. After retiring from the Army, he transitioned to NASA Langley Research Center in Hampton, Virginia, where he works today as a procurement attorney. Gallagher has also served at NASA as Business Law Team lead and deputy chief counsel. He has been selected for several Military Awards, Performance and Superior Accomplishment Awards, NASA Legal Team and Group Achievement Awards, as well as his recent Director’s Group Award.

2014 Jill Orton, Deb Fischer-Clemens, Brock Sundall, S. Penny Bingham
2013 Dennis Heine
2012 Sister Candyce Chrystal, Dan Specht
2011 Deidre Flaherty, Jon Swegarden
2010 Sister Aidan Bourke, Norm Kunselman, Marilyn Pates
2008 Sister Patricia Heirigs, Marvin Veasy, Francis G. Tramp, Dagen Valentine
2007 Sister Cynthia Binder, Phyllis Kneifl Getz, Janet Holzman Beattie, Corey Wittrock
2006 Mary Elizabeth Eisenman Carson, Rev. David Korth, Kayleen Tyrrell Lee, Dr. James Dufek, Nathan V. Johnson
2005 Mary Lois Hunhoff Gibson, S. Ramona Fallon, Dr. Janet Serie, Bernadette Standaert Obert, Doris Parisien Fiedler
2004 Christine Lang Pharr, Carol Kippes Pistulka, S. Marcine Quintus, Gene & Angela Holmes Elder
2003 Alice Jensen Hoesing, Shirley Skrdla Musich, S. Consuelo Chavez, Jason Pistulka
2002 Carol Schmitt Bennett-Dorsey, Myrna Brennick, Denise Proctor, Theresa Swier
2001 Frances Murray Flaherty, Suzanne Reisch Dufek, Marilyn Van Gerpen Ter Maat, S. Kara Payer
2000 George Munn, Marian Dendinger Pyper, Ruth Kornely, Tom Buckmiller

1999 Charles Stastny, Janet Holzman Beattie, Kelly Heller
1998 Rosaleen Doom Krames, Cheryl Commers Hanks, Kayleen Jorgensen Deacon, Scott Swier
1997 Lucille Kribell O'Connor, Kathryn O'Leary Higgins, Norma German Doyle, Dave Abbott
1996 Dr. Mary Shon, S. Jacquelyn Ernster, Alice Baumberger Gannon, Tim Dingman
1995 Kent Lethcoe, Alice Jensen Hoesing, Kathleen Spitzenberger Roehl, Dorothy Stoll
1994 S. Marie Helen Werdel, Barbara Hickey Kramer, Christine Lang Pharr, Michelle Peak
1993 Thomas K. Harmon, Nancy Werner, Brigid Flanagan, David Allen Lyons
1992 Jolene Schwarz Sokol, David Knips, David Fletcher, Michael Klimisch
1991 Joan Rossiter Burney, S. Inez Welchert, S. Adrienne Kaufmann, Matthew Dvorak
1990 S. Mary Arthur Schramm, JoAnn Stransky Thistlewood, Mary Alice Lacey Feltham, Fran Davey Hassler

1989 S. Virgil Koch, Kay Johnson Deacon, Frances Biegelmeier Lowenstein, Sue Boyum Ressler
1988 Arliss Johnson, Joy Hentges Jenkins, S. Rosalie Sitzmann, Br. Nick Feyerisen
1987 Jess Wolf, Donna Meirose, S. Rosaria Kranz (deceased), John Glidden
1986 S. Roswitha Zavadil (deceased), S. Harriet Gobel, Kathleen Lahr Keller, Geri Weiland Loecker
1985 S. Rhoda Foecke (deceased), Norman Kunselman, Cecilia Rokusek, Gary Wagner, Katie O'Donnel Wagner, Terry Wensing, Pam Oberembt Wensing
1984 Adeline Andersen Morck (deceased), Connie Mentele Kass, Janice Joffer Thompson, Tim Glidden
1983 Paula Kertzman Tacke, Rev. Guy Gau, Mary Anne Post Rhomberg, Jeanne Pride Parker
1982 Bernard Hunhoff, Cleopha Fanslow Gumbinger, Viola Breen Bauder, James Dufek
1981 Ruth Landsberger Vickers, S. Kevin Irwin, S. Laurina Kaiser, Dan Wagner
1980 Francine Dold, Ceil Connelly (deceased), Gloria Tysl, Norman Kunselman

1979 Jeanette Dangel, Cecilia Rokusek
1978 S. Phyllis Hunhoff, Fred Ertz
1977 Kathleen Bouska, Dennis Fokken
1976 Florence Rossiter, Paula Kertzmann Tacke
1975 Rita Amberg Waldref
1974 S. Evangeline Anderson
1973 S. Julia Hunhoff
1972 S. Wilma Lyle